Lesleyann Harper

Licensing Executive

Licensing


Temporary Event Notices & the Rugby World Cup 2019

Lesleyann Harper

Japan will be hosting the 9th Rugby World Cup starting on 20th September 2019. This presents a great opportunity for licensed premises to increase their trade.

 

The Home Office has recently announced that there are no plans for the Secretary of State to make an order to relax the licensing hours for the Rugby World Cup under the Licensing Act 2003.

With there being an 8 hour time difference beyween the UK and Japan many of the home nation games will be kicking off in the earlier part of the morning.
If you wish to offer and early start of licensable activities to your customers then we advise that check the permitted hours on your Premises Licence and your conditions and consider whether you will require any Temporary Event Notices (TEN's) to enable you to sell alcohol for the start of some of the hime nations' games.

Listed below are some of the notable match dates and start times, in UK (GMT) time:

  • Sunday 22nd September Ireland v Scotland 08:45 am
  • Sunday 22nd September England v Tonga 11:15 am
  • Monday 23rd September Wales v Georgia 11:15 am
  • Thursday 26th September England v USA 11:45 am
  • Saturday 28th September Ireland v Japan 08:15 am
  • Sunday 29th September Australia v Wales 08:45 am
  • Monday 30th September Scotland v Samoa 11:15 am
  • Thursday 3rd October Ireland v Russia 11:15 am
  • Saturday 5th October England v Argentina 09:00 am
  • Wednesday 9th October Scotland v Russia 08:15 am
  • Wednesday 9th October Wales v Fiji 10:45 am
  • Saturday 12th October England v France 09:15 am
  • Saturday 12th October Ireland v Samoa 11:45 am
  • Sunday 13th October Wales v Uruguay 09:15 am
  • Sunday 13th October Scotland v Japan 11:45 am
  • Saturday 19th October Quarter Final 08:15 am and 11:15 am
  • Sunday 20th October Quarter Final 08:15 am and 11:15 am
  • Saturday 26th October Semi Final 09:00 am
  • Sunday 27th October Semi Final 09:00 am
  • Friday 1st November Third place play-off 09:00 am
  • Saturday 2nd November Final 09:00 am


It is worth noting that the UK clocks will go back an hour in the early hours of 27th October 2019 and therefore you may require a Temporary Event Notice to open early on this day.

If you require any advice or assistance in obtaining a Temporary Event Notice to cover additional hours for the Rugby World Cup then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sitemap | Ask a question | Careers | Accessibility | Terms of Use | How we handle your data

© 2019 Fraser Brown Solicitors. Authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.
SRA Number: 0048586   |SRA |  VAT Number: 116 4751 78

Fraser Brown is a partnership of limited companies. Any references to partners in any document should be taken as being references to the directors of the limited companies and not to individual partners of the firm.